beach cat to pocket cruiser - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 08-05-2019 Thread Starter

beach cat to pocket cruiser

I'm not an entirely new sailor, but I'm only really venturing into the world of monohull cruisers now for the first time. I've been sailing a Prindle 18 on and off for nearly four decades, and now that we're sailing as a family, we'd like to start making multi-day coastal cruises, rather than just horsing around for a few hours in the waves. I've just completed the ASA101, and am going to try to get the ASA103 in shortly, so that I will be able to charter boats larger than 22' day sailers. My wife has just completed the "learn to sail" and we're hoping to spend a fair bit of time in the Chesapeake later this season and next, getting our sea legs (along with our four year old son).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 08-05-2019

Re: beach cat to pocket cruiser

There is no real difference between sailing a P18 and a mono hull pocket cruiser, except the mono will feel like its permanently stuck in low gear

I would try and find something in really good shape because fixing boats isn't all that much fun, at least it isn't for me. Newish to new outboard. (I am assuming outboard because pocket cruiser, but if not, disregard).

Aside from maintenance and sailing, its mostly just navigation, navigation just takes practice. If you start out with a good voyage plan before you ever leave the dock, that should minimise improvisation on the water
post #3 of 23 Old 08-05-2019