SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Pioneer 9 newby

462 views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  Barquito 
#1 ·
Hi thanks for the add to the forum
I am new to sailing but not new to boats
I have brought a Pioneer 9 I am trying to find out what year it is. Hull number 305333 also trying to find out any history of the boat. It's called Bel Air kept at Cowes Isle of Wight UK.

#2 ·
I'm guessing you have come across this discussion on another forum:

The Pioneer 9 has a great reputation, in 1971, Nicollete Milnes-Walker was the first woman to sail non-stop single handed across the Atlantic in her Pioneer 9 "Aziz".
This yacht is ideal for someone looking for a strongly built heavy displacement cruising yacht with good handling and attractive classic lines.

I have a friend who owned one, and we sailed on company (St Kilda) on one occasion.
A fairly early Van de Stadt design, so eminently seaworthy (2-way trans-Atlantic): tough and durable build quality: no manoeuvrability problems, a good performance in its time, but no match for modern lightweight skimmers. Tight accommodation.
Spade Rudder Too