SailNet Community

SailNet Community (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   Absolutely no experience, solo crossing an ocean? (https://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/249513-absolutely-no-experience-solo-crossing-ocean.html)

KGS 04-20-2016 06:30 AM

Absolutely no experience, solo crossing an ocean?

Hello experienced sailors,

I've got this crazy idea of doing some solo-oceancrossings. I've lived on an adventure on land travellling the world the last two years, and now I want to do it at sea.

I can feel that I would love start sailing, but I've never been aboard a sailboat. I've watched hundreds of sailing videos on youtube and I have to do something like this as the adventurer i am.

I'm thinking of buying a 30 foot boat. Nothing fancy.

Is it possible for a total beginner to just buy a 30 foot boat with OK equipment for about $10k and begin sailing singlehanded?

mikel1 04-20-2016 06:56 AM

Re: Absolutely no experience, solo crossing an ocean?

Yes but! . . . . . .First get someone to take you out a few times before you buy . . . . also get some experience with others to learn a little in the beginning . . . Be sensible. . . . It isn't rocket science as they say but don't be foolish either, find out if it is "for you" maybe you are in love with the idea more than reality . . Slow in the beginning cowboy . . . .

cb32863 04-20-2016 10:05 AM

Here we go.... /grabbing the popcorn

Ajax_MD 04-20-2016 10:07 AM

You go ahead and do that.

svHyLyte 04-20-2016 10:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ajax_MD (Post 3450497)
You go ahead and do that.

And be sure to let us know how it turns out...

midwesterner 04-20-2016 10:22 AM

11 Attachment(s)
You might want to read some of the accounts of people who have done it.

Stuart Woods' book, Blue Water, Green Skipper,