Yacht club advice for a complete beginner? - SailNet Community
 24Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 08-03-2018 Thread Starter

Yacht club advice for a complete beginner?

Hi all,

As the title suggests, I'm a complete beginner with no experience but I am very keen to learn. Tomorrow I'll be visiting my local yacht club and, weather permitting, will go for a sail with one/some of the members. I'd like to make a good first impression even though I don't have much to contribute.

I also don't know what to look out for and what questions to ask to ascertain if this club is a good match for me. I want to learn to sail smaller vessels, I don't want to eventually work on a super yacht. Sometimes people assume that's my goal because I am younger and a lot of people do that after finishing school or college.
The club also does racing and while I am more interested in sailing as a hobby I'm not against trying out racing if that is where the club needs an extra hand.

Any advice regarding what shoes to wear and good etiquette onboard is also welcome, though I have read up on those things too.

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 Old 08-03-2018

Re: Yacht club advice for a complete beginner?

General etiquette is white soled shoes or some type of docksiders. Whatever you do don't wear a Captain's hat. A polo shirt and some Khaki's are good yachty uniform to make a good first impression. If you join, you can then start wearing sailing t-shirts and torn shorts later on.

I have spent a lot of time in yacht clubs after racing, but never felt the need to join one. You might be better off joining a sailing club. These are usually for profit organizations that teach sailing and provide boats to rent. If you live in a bigger liberal city you might find a cool non-profit club also. There are a lot of ways to learn to sail without joining a yacht club.

Jordan
West Wight Potter 14 "Lemon Drop"
Oceanside CA