Sailboat Keeps Getting Blown Downwind - SailNet Community
 15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-27-2019 Thread Starter

Sailboat Keeps Getting Blown Downwind

I'm relatively new to sailing; bought an old (built in 1982, original sail I believe) 14 ft daysailer (Vagabond) three years ago. We've had it out a dozen times or so and generally everything worked as expected. Until...

Last weekend on a warm gusty day my son and I took it out on a small lake near our house (we've been on it many times before). The boat kept getting blown down wind. As much as I tried sailing close-hauled, 45 degrees to upwind, the boat kept getting pushed sideways (or backwards in some cases). At times I was getting it to behave and making progress but overall we were pushed further down wind. The wind was 11 mph on average, with gusts up to 15mph.
The wind was inconsistent with sudden strong gusts and seemed to change directions often. We did not put up the jib, just the mainsail, thinking it would be harder to control with the jib.

Its so hard to tell when you're out there which direction (exactly) the wind is coming from and if you're moving in the direction you want. I will say that other boats on the lake seemed to be moving along fine.

Another issue is that we'd be sailing along fine (close hauled) then the boat would suddenly spin around as if we were tacking. The rudder is full in one direction, but the wind forced us in the other direction. So we'd accept our fate and sail close-hauled in the new direction for a bit.

One more note: The sail is old, worn out, patched, and sewn in MANY places. I'm going to get a new sail before we take it out next year, but for this year I'm stuck with this one.

Why does it not behave as all the sailing diagrams and animations show??
Is there some fundamental sailing technique I'm not understanding?
Is there something wrong with the boat: the sail, the rigging?
Are some gusty days just like that?