Take ASA classes or buy sunfish/small sailboat - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 05-08-2011 Thread Starter

Take ASA classes or buy sunfish/small sailboat

Hello all, I am a poor college student who is interested in sailing. I've grown up around the ocean and in it, lived in Satellite Beach, Florida for a few years, but I've only been sailing once or twice with my mother when I was in middle school. I'm taking a 4 hour introductory sailing class this Saturday. Although I don't think there will be much sailing, and it will be on a lake, I'm hoping to get a small taste of sailing to see if it was as fun as I remember. I love traveling and seeing new things, so I also see sailing as a way to facilitate this desire for traveling as well.

But anyways, seeing as how I don't have that much disposable income I'm left with a choice. Should I buy a small sailboat or take ASA sailing classes? The thing is I go to school in Lubbock, TX, nowhere near any large body of water (There's plenty of wind though!). There are some small lakes that are sufficient for sailing on. So the good thing about buying a small sailboat is that I would be able to get some practice,but if I got my ASA certification I wouldn't get any sailing experience beyond what the class gave me for a LONG time. (3 more semesters until I graduate). But it seems like I would have a really good foundation if I got my ASA certs.

Last edited by Finite; 05-08-2011 at 07:31 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 05-08-2011
Senior Slacker

I would buy a boat. Look for a sloop-rigged boat with a "Marconi" mainsail, like this:

rather than sunfish (which is lanteen-rigged), like this: