New to Living on a Boat - SailNet Community
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-17-2017 Thread Starter

New to Living on a Boat

Hi everyone,

I am looking to purchase a sailboat to live in. I am new to boats. What should I look out for when purchasing a used boat? Are there any prerequisites I need to meet before making my purchase (boat license, boat operation, etc.)? I don't know how to operate a boat, I only plan to live in it and learn to operate it from experienced sailors in my free time.

I live in Portland, OR. I am concerned about storms, and harsh winters.

Thanks for all your help!
- Kevin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 08-18-2017

Re: New to Living on a Boat

1. you need money; what is your budget? what size boat?
2. do you have a suitable place to keep it?
3. prerequisites; learn to sail first.
4. since you intend to live on it, check all the through hulls.
5. no, you do not need a boat license to buy a boat; just $$.
6. you may need to operate the boat to take it away (from a marina?)
7. if you know an experienced sailor, invite him to go with you to see the boat first before you pay.
8. have the boat surveyed to find out any big faults.
9. storms are scary; all sailors try their best to avoid them!
10. you will need some source of heat for winter.

good luck!

Magnum 21, Laser, Hobie 16, Noelex 22, Kestrel 19, Laser, 470, Seahopper, Optimist, Sunfish...
blog:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by David Chin; 08-18-2017 at 04:41 AM.
post #3 of 16 Old 08-18-2017

Why buy a sailboat to live on? Sailboats are not comfortable dwellings. Get a more suitable craft like a house boat or a trawler.
travlin-easy likes this.

post #4 of 16 Old 08-18-2017

You may want to check out the blogs and websites for some of the people who have lived aboard sailboats in cold climates.