SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Livaboard freshwater system maintenance advice sought.

11K views 105 replies 21 participants last post by  colemj 
#1 ·
I'm pretty new to this. Been living aboard since last November.

In Oct, before I left the dock, my freshwater had an odor and bad taste to it. So loaded up the tanks with a bunch of bleach, let it sit for a while, then pumped it all out through the system. After flushing a bit, the water came out tasting like you'd expect water to taste again.

Now it's Jan, and the foul odor/taste is back. Since I'm not at a dock anymore, the bleach and flush is going to be a bit more difficult to do, but I guess I'll have to figure something out.

My question is how typical is this? Do most freshwater systems need bleached every 3 months or so or is this a bad sign?

I'm seriously considering ripping out the entire freshwater system and replacing it this summer while hauled out. And the return of this odor is only making me more determined.

What is the experience of people who have been out there longer? How difficult is it to keep a freshwater system clean and healthy?

#2 · (Edited)
My tanks are stainless steel and installed in 1985. I drain them in winter and add some chorox when I fill them. I don't drink the tank water. It is used for cleaning and showers and doesn't smell. I have a water filter and sometimes use this filtered water for making things like rice. The water used for drinking and brushing teeth and cooking comes from the bottled water we store in the dispenser pictured below.

I filter the water going into the tanks regardless at every fill up.

Attachments

#8 ·