[Video] Will my 40 year old diesel start? - SailNet Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By VIEXILE

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-04-2019 Thread Starter

[Video] Will my 40 year old diesel start?

https://youtu.be/2ZRAE3ZjiCA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 04-04-2019

Re: [Video] Will my 40 year old diesel start?

Getting close Bill.
post #3 of 10 Old 04-04-2019 Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulinnanaimo View Post
Getting close Bill.
Seems that way, doesn't it ...

That footage was shot about 2 weeks ago. Things haven't gone so well, since

post #4 of 10 Old 04-10-2019

So what's up with it? Usually a seal, a gasket, some tinkering will overcome a world of issues. Even though I've been sailing for 50 years, but not for the last 8 or 9 due to family issues, and been through half a dozen refits of various boats, I enjoy watching you while I do the same with my T37. You give this old **** confidence. Loved the masthead sheave replacement.
BillMoran likes this.
post #5 of 10 Old 04-10-2019

Once those new valves are underwater, they'll be under pressure, which may identify more weakness. I am a bit surprised you had any leaks. Your idea to plug from the outside can theoretically be done in the water too. I think I would only want to do so, with someone out there monitoring it. Not pound one in and then go back aboard and pull the valve. But it could avoid another trip to the lift.

Another thought would be to add a good pipe dope. I think that does better than teflon tape anyway. Also, the yellow teflon tape (max density) is much better. Some use both at the same time. Hopefully they held just fine.

You noted you ran the cooling water dry. Probably didn't matter, but I worry about impellers if run dry for any amount of time. I've had them look just fine, but fail shortly thereafter, at the worst possible time.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Jeanneau 54DS