Spirit 23 potential purchase - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 Old 09-26-2017 Thread Starter

Spirit 23 potential purchase

Hi there, mateys! I'm fairly new to Sailnet.

I'm considering buying the local yacht club's Spirit 23 sailboat. It's in pretty good shape but for two things, which I want some info on... mostly, how difficult these repairs will be.

1. Cockpit sole is soft... no doubt about it. What's it like to do a proper repair of such?

2. The cable which hoists/lowers the centerboard is broken. I've seen a fix elsewhere on Sailnet... but still seems like a difficult job.

I don't know what the club is asking yet for the boat (they have a "board" meeting coming up Oct 4 or so to discuss whether they want to sell it or not.

The rest of the boat and sails check out ok. I've sailed the boat twice and like its feel.

No trailer... I think I can find one fairly close to me (I live on the Oregon coast... lots of boats and trailers).

Price-wise I'm thinking $800-1000.

Ocean bay sailing and an occasional foray out of the bay into the Pacific ocean (when conditions allow for such) are what I do. I currently have a Bayliner Buccaneer 200. It's a good solid boat and I like it. But I have an urge to get out in the ocean a bit more frequently and think the Spirit 23 might be a good boat for that.

Any comments/help/suggestions would be welcome.

Thanks.

Hal Nash
Waldport OR
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 Old 09-26-2017

Re: Spirit 23 potential purchase

The cockpits sole is probably uncored and fatigued. If so, you can stiffen it with a beam bonded from below.
post #3 of 43 Old 09-27-2017 Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hudsonian View Post
The cockpits sole is probably uncored and fatigued. If so, you can stiffen it with a beam bonded from below.
By "uncored," are you saying that the cockpit floor is construction is NOT the fiberglass/plywood/fiberglass sandwich? That there's no wood core there?

Thanks for the help.