Tohatsu 5 hp 2 stroke outboard fuel problem - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-12-2016 Thread Starter

Tohatsu 5 hp 2 stroke outboard fuel problem

Hello,
I am pretty new to outboards. I was aiming to start the outboard after a long time standing. I put fresh fuel and oil (1:50) in the external tank primed it with a few squeezes with the primer ball and it fired up quite easily and ran well. After 5 Mins the engine stalled and it seemed that the clear indicator on the fuel line was empty. I then tried to start it again and couldn't get it going. From my understanding most outboards have a fuel switch which enables you to turn off and on the supply, on this one I cannot find such a switch and there seems no way of turning the flow off or on. Would the fuel tank be gravity fed? As when I was running it the fuel tank was on the floor and the outboard on a stand above it.
Any help would be very much appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 06-12-2016

Re: Tohatsu 5 hp 2 stroke outboard fuel problem

Are you using Ethanol gas from the pump? You should not be. I don't know if you have ethanol gas in the UK.
post #3 of 12 Old 06-12-2016

Location: The house is in Kingsport, TN. Boats are on Watauga Lake and in New Bern, NC

Do you have the owners manual?
http://www.tohatsu.com/tech_info/own.../Toh5B_5BS.pdf
Some Tohatsu 5 hp 2 cycle have in internal tank, other have an external tank.
The service manual is also on line.
http://www.tecnomar.cl/pdf/pdf_servi...202-Stroke.pdf

I have the 8 hp with Nissan decals. It is a great little motor.

post #4 of 12 Old 06-12-2016 Thread Starter

Thanks for your help, it looks like there are two systems one with a pump and one gravity. I am just using gasolineand oil mix? It seems like the fuel clock is on the tank not on the motor, which makes sense why I can't find it on the motor. Any more information would be very helpful
post #5 of 12 Old 06-13-2016
Sailor