Rules - Luffing v Sailing above proper course - SailNet Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-23-2005 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
 
Rules - Luffing v Sailing above proper course

OK - so here''s an issue I came across at the weekend...

3 boats: L to leaward of C (central) who was leaward of W.

I was in W. C saw a gap between W and L and went for it. She obtained an overlap on W within two boat lengths to leward of her - consequently, she had no luffing rights on W and could not sail above her proper course.

L did have luffing rights and squeezed C up onto W. Was C sailing above her proper course as a result of being luffed by L? C gave W enough room to respond but W did not want to respond as C had no luffing rights. Should C have responded to L''s luff by saying that she could go no further as W was an obstruction?

Any thoughts would be gratefully received!

Thanks...
Bootydawg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-23-2005
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 21
 
Rules - Luffing v Sailing above proper course

Bootydawg.....First let me say I''m no expert but it seems to me that RRS18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction, applies because it is in Section C which takes precedence over Sections A and B. Therefore if C obtained the overlap from clear astern and if at the time there was room to do so, W is obligated to give her room as long as C''s obstruction, L, remains. This is not to say that C can luff W unless forced up by L. That''s just the way it looks from here.

George
geohan is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-09-2005
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 140
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
 
Rules - Luffing v Sailing above proper course

Very interesting scenario. You can look at this from lots of different ways.

Geohan cites rule 18.5, but this rule only says that in passing a continuing obstruction (a seawall? An overlapped boat one is obligated to give room to/keep clear of?) rules 18.2(b) and (c) don''t apply. Presumably, 18.2(a) still applies, and might be controlling. But which boat constitutes the obstruction? L? C, based on how W obtained overlap?

Based on pure fair play principles, I''d have to say we need one more piece of information: Were W and L overlapped prior to C squeezing between them? If so, L had luffing rights over W, and C''s intervention should not change the fact. Conversely, if W was clear ahead, C''s intervention should not grant rights to L over W that it otherwise would not have but for the presence of C.

The other interesting aspect of this is when you see this situation prior to the start. I think the answer in this case is straightforward; before the start there is no "proper course" so L can take up any number of boats to windward regardless of how the overlaps are established.

Allen Flanigan
aflanigan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

By choosing to post the reply above you agree to the rules you agreed to when joining Sailnet.
Click Here to view those rules.

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jib trimmed but main luffing? cdhickey Learning to Sail 12 06-18-2012 04:46 PM
If it's not luffing, it's helping? steveg353 General Discussion (sailing related) 8 03-11-2012 06:33 PM
Rights and luffing sails jarcher Racing 13 08-25-2009 07:04 AM
luffing the leech ... mikehoyt Racing 10 08-11-2006 12:16 AM
Above Proper Course MemphisMud General Discussion (sailing related) 4 10-15-2002 09:43 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome