Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: CT/ Long Island Sound
Thanked 86 Times in 85 Posts
Rep Power: 20
Re: Rule 18.3
Thought I had responded to this earlier, but it apparently got swallowed in the Internet. I find the situation difficult to picture based on the OP's description. If P, inside the 3-boatlength zone, passes "clean in front" of S, and then "heads down" to round the mark, does that mean they are leaving the mark to starboard and that P overstood? Is it a leeward mark? It is mentioned that P is involved in tacking, but only after being "comfortably ahead". The description is not clear.
Based on the subsequent discussion, a possible scenario is that P passes ahead of S and then tacks, and then heads off to round as close as possible to the windward mark. If S secures an inside overlap and calls for room (even though it is too late, once inside of the 3-length zone to call for room) perhaps P tacked too close. But then both boats are on starboard tack, no? If it is a windward mark, and S is fetching it, then doesn't P (who after tacking becomes W, for Windward) need to keep clear of S, who is Leeward? This is why you don't approach the windward mark on port tack: you can get into trouble. S does not get room, but if she is fetching the mark she IS entitled to rights as leeward boat. 18.3 does not apply here, since there was no overlap at the 3 boatlength zone limit. P (who becomes W) cannot cut S (who beomes L) off if S is fetching the mark.
Last edited by paulk; 02-24-2015 at 11:04 PM.