Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 12
Retiring After Finishing
This past weekend, I skippered my boat for the first time in a distance race on Lake Michigan. It was a 15 NM course with a gate half way. The sailing instructions stated that the finish would be at the gate if the finish was not crossed within the 6-hour time limit. There was a 5-hour time limit to reach the gate.
We had good wind at the start but the wind died. We made the gate within the 5-hour time limit as did three other boats in our division. Four boats in our division did not make it to the gate.
Two boats that made the gate ahead of us, retired from the race prior to the 6-hour time limit!
I am wondering if other racers could weigh in on how you think the scoring should have been calculated. Particularly, do the following apply?
Rule A4.2: A boat that did not start, did not finish, retired after finishing, or was disqualified shall be scored points for the finishing place one more than the number of boats entered in the series (again, there were 8 boats in our division).
Rule A6.1: If a boat is disqualified from a race or retires after finishing, each boat with a worse finishing place shall be moved up one place.
Should the two boats that retired been designated RAF (Retired After Finishing) according to Rule A11?
2005 Catalina 350 Grazia
"If you want to build a ship, don't herd people together to collect wood. Just teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea"
Antoine de Saint
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.