american fiberglass t42 - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 08-14-2014 Thread Starter

american fiberglass t42

I just got a free t42 by American fiberglass, i am brand new to sailing and i would like to fix up this boat, however it has no mast, boom or sail and i cant find any info about what size they are. Please help.
Thanks ,Nate
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 08-14-2014
TQA
Bombay Explorer 44

Re: american fiberglass t42

TANSTAFL

If you get that ready to sail you will have spent three to ten times what it is worth. Three times and maybe a year running around for used. Ten if you buy new.

So give it away.

Check on Craigslist for something like this. Chrysler 22, sailboat

A weeks hard work plus two visits to Home Depot and you will be sailing.
post #3 of 14 Old 08-15-2014 Thread Starter

It doesn't need that much work just some repair on some hatches, like hinges, already has a good trailer, all i really need is a sail.
Thanks, Nate

post #4 of 14 Old 08-15-2014
TQA
Bombay Explorer 44

Well if you go ahead with it then contact these guys https://www.dwyermast.com/default.asp for mast and rigging.

Make sure you factor in carriage charges on the mast. Where I am they are 2 to 3 times the cost of the mast.

Lee Sails can do new sails at a reasonable price. Lee Sails: Sailmaker to the world.

But I would buy that Chrysler, rent a pressure washer then maybe a buffer for the hull. A pint of epoxy to put everything back inside and I will be sailing next weekend with very little stress.

Last edited by TQA; 08-15-2014 at 04:44 PM.
post #5 of 14 Old 08-16-2014 Thread Starter

I know you are trying to help, however I AM KEEPING THIS BOAT, and i would like to fix it up this thread is just because i need help on sail size mast size and boom size, I DON'T WANT ADVICE ON GETTING RIDE OF MY BOAT I WANT TO KEEP IT.
thanks, Nate
post #6 of 14 Old 08-17-2014
One of None

This is all I've found on this boat Natey.