buying a 38 foot boat - SailNet Community
SailNet FAQ No Posting Please

1Likes
  • 1 Post By capta

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-02-2019 Thread Starter

buying a 38 foot boat

Hi All;

I am new to the sailing community and My wife and I would like to buy a 2005 or newer boat in the 38 foot range. We like to wide boats such as a Hanse; Dufour or a Beneteau. Is there a better boat in these three or any other suggestions.

We will be sailing on Lake Ontario for a couple of years and then we would like to take the boat to the Caribbean and also Europe.

Thanks in advance for any helpful advice.

Kevin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 03-02-2019

Re: buying a 38 foot boat

They are good value boats for Ontario to the Caribbean with modest sailing skills but getting one across the Atlantic will require more advanced skills.

For the Keys and Bahamas you need a shoal draft but for Caribbean and beyond you need the deeper keel models.

Buy, learn and enjoy!

Phil

Last edited by Yorksailor; 03-02-2019 at 12:59 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Yorksailor For This Useful Post:
kmac (03-02-2019)
post #3 of 9 Old 03-02-2019

The boats you mention are decent coastal cruisers. Fine for the Great Lakes and hops to the islands in good weather windows. However for crossing the Atlantic, there are better choices.

S/V First Tracks
1985 Cal 33-2
The Following User Says Thank You to JimsCAL For This Useful Post:
kmac (03-02-2019)

post #4 of 9 Old 03-02-2019

A lot of boats sold as coastal cruisers or racers can be upgraded for offshore. Few boats are sold as and equipped as ready to sail offshore.

pay attention... someone's life depends on it
The Following User Says Thank You to SanderO For This Useful Post:
kmac (03-02-2019)
post #5 of 9 Old 03-02-2019
Master Mariner