SailNet Community banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
1967 Contest29 Complete refit in progress; $5,000.

I am selling my Contest 29 which I have been restoring but need some one to complete.Some info on my 1969 Contest 29 "ARTEMIS" First , I am a professional shipwright and have my own buisness building and restoring boats, primarily sail. I bought ARTEMIS about 8 years ago and sailed and lived aboard her for about 4 years . I then decided to do a complete stem to stern restoration of the boat as I really like d the way she sailed and planned on a circumnavigation ad well as continuing to live aboard her. I rented a house and put her in a shed I built behind the house . I then stripped her completely to a bare hull. I started with a new bottom, completely removing all paint and giving the boat a west system epioxy treatment and then also barrier coating with interlux 3000 and several coats of CSC bottom opaint. I replaced the electrical with all top of the line blue SEas panels, both AC & DC with all meters and rewired most of the boat with all top grade marine wire. All the orignal ahogany exterior wood work was removed and I began refabfricating everything in Teak, new team mast step, fporwrd hatchm companionway sill and drop board slides, cockpit lazereetyee htch covers and gave all 10or more coats of Bristol finish. New Rubrails were also fabricated. I had a second stainless steel fresh water tank fabrictaed to double her water capacity. I completeley reglassed all the old openings in the hull and deck from previouvent, instrument, pump etc. cutouts and have filled a nd faired the entire hull and have her prepped for painting The paint is already purchsed. The boat is both tiller and wheel steered , I overhauled and refinsihed the Edson Pedastal. The standing rigging was all replaced, A new yanmar 2GM freshwater cooled deisel was installed when I first bought her and has less than 200 hours on her. The mast was comple