SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Fairly new to sailing. This will only be my 2nd boat. Upgrading from a 16' lugar (1974). Not seeing much on the market that I like. Am I jumping the gun too early? When do owners generally start posting their boats for sale?

In any case, I've made my offer and the owner accepted. The boat is in excellent condition. He really took care of it and seems to have made all the necessary upgrades. Atomic 4 engine and he claims its never once crapped out on him. And that its also started without the use of a jumper box. Are these old engines really that reliable? Like I said I'm new to sailing so I don't want to get stranded out on the lake with no wind and no engine.

I know that the sails aren't the originals, but i don't know how new they are. Haven't gotten a straight answer. Something to be concerned about? I'm really just trying to cruise.

·
Administrator
9,053 Posts
The only problem with the 1977 Ericsons is that was the period that Ericson began experimenting with using only laminating resin, and that was a real mess. The simplified story on this is that polyester resin will not fully cure in the presence of air. That is a good thing when you are doing multiple laminations such as a hull since one layer is forming a primary bond with the uncured layer below that.

In typical construction, the last lamination uses a finishing resin, which has a waxy substance in it. The heat of curing causes that waxy substance to float to the surface and seal out air allowing the entire laminate to finish curing.

The problem with the laminate being fully cured is that you end up with secondary bond between the tabbing for bulkhead and such, and the hull, and it takes a fair amount of grinding of the cured laminate remove the waxy substance and to get a decent bond between the tabbing and the hull.