SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All!

I am needing some opinions on this. A friend of the family has passed and left this beautiful sailboat to us. It does need TLC, some of the outside wood needs to be sanded and redone a bit. Inside could use some reupholstered cushions, a good cleaning, some electronics. I know the engine fires up and runs well. Not sure on the hours on her but its strong! The sails and rigging are just two years old. This is most definitley a oceangoing vessel and very strong. The sailboat currently sits in Grand Lake, OK...which its a tad big for the lake. Im wondering if this would be worth fixing or better off selling? Now, I am a NOOB to sailing and my free time is very limited with my businesses. Im leaning torwards selling her to one of you REAL sailors:cool:. ive done research and know very little about this vessel. Is anyone familair? What would she be worth?

Respectfully,

Tom

Attachments

·
Registered
545 Posts
I don't have a boat, and I have never been sailing. From what I have read If you were on the coast it would be a tat big for a beginner, but doable and a nice boat. You may be right about it being large for lake sailing. At the very least clean it up and sail it a few times.

·
Registered
337 Posts
Mermaid,

this is an old boat with old equipment. It does needs a lot of fixing.
Froms the pics one get the impression of some time of neglect.

For me, very far from being a potential customer, the hull and deck shapes looks nice. This promise to be a good boat, that will sail well (maybe not fast, which is another thing).

Downside:
- old engine. May start, and may work for a long time. But its economical life is over. It doesn't have any (positive) value.
- engine control panel should be in the cockpit, not at the nav station.
- Interior planning is not what one could expect for a 37' ft boat. This looks more like a 33 fr interior.

Value: