SailNet Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings:
1st note on this site. Just received a 1990 3hp Johnson. On R side of foot is gear drain and fill screw. On L side same area, there is a hole with a little burnt looking oil around the hole. What is this hole? Should there be a screw? I don't get it. Schematics only show R side of lower end. I cannot load a pic but can send thru mail or phone. Does someone know what this hole is? Thank you. Eddie

·
Registered
Corsair 24
4,594 Posts
I have a 3.3...are you maybe seing one of the exhaust holes?

mine are actually right above the lower unit but centered not off to one side

they are oily and black

if so thats more than likely where yours is

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you. I'm no mechanic. Is there a way to send a pic of this? I cannot post one thru this site. Can I forward a pic to you on another way? The 3.3 is on a Gheenoe to be used by I injured vets. I don't know what the insides of the unit looks like but with the drain screw and fill hole directly opposite this " pencil size hole " it seems that gear lube must be behind the hole. I don't want to burn up the lower end. I know it sounds nuts, I have no diagram. Eddie

·
Registered
187 Posts
Yeah, I was just stung by the "no early pix or links" rule. Perhaps you could put the photo up on photobucket.com and s p e l l o u t t h e U R L so it was not a link...

I've got a much older Evinrude 4, but it's out of reach right now.

Does yours start? If it turns over easily, it won't hurt to run it dry for a few seconds. That should answer your question about the hole/port.

On looking at

I wonder if it's the coolant water intake. If so, you can test it by running the motor in a bucket and watching for the coolant stream.

You can often get an idea about old engines from sources such as:

Evinrude Gearcase Parts for 1990 3hp E3BRESR Outboard Motor

·
Registered
5 Posts