SailNet Community banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Schooner Captain
2,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, before I upgrade this fall to a chiller, I need to fix my current AC.

It is 16K I believe, and does not run.
I have checked the wires on the switches, all good.
I put a screwdriver on the top of the overtemp switch, bridged the connections, no luck.

The only bad looking item I found was the wire coming from the start cap to the motor. It was melted. This could have been because of the shoddy wiring at this marina that nearly burnt my boat down. So I was thinking I should perhaps replace the start cap?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Let me know if you need any help I'm a HVAC/R student. If you have a multimeter you can ohm the capacitor out to test it. Just in case you don't know do NOT touch the terminals or you might have a few choice words after the shock. Let me know though and I'll try to help you.

·
Master Mariner
9,073 Posts
You can change out parts one by one and you could get lucky, or you could waste a lot of money doing this. A professional will probably find the problem pretty quickly and perhaps his knowledge and experience will actually save you money. Your choice.

·
Schooner Captain
2,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
You can change out parts one by one and you could get lucky, or you could waste a lot of money doing this. A professional will probably find the problem pretty quickly and perhaps his knowledge and experience will actually save you money. Your choice.
The start cap is an $18 part, a pro will be at least $100, If it is the compressor, then it does not matter.

·
Schooner Captain
2,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Let me know if you need any help I'm a HVAC/R student. If you have a multimeter you can ohm the capacitor out to test it. Just in case you don't know do NOT touch the terminals or you might have a few choice words after the shock. Let me know though and I'll try to help you.