SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Writing from Seattle, WA and a new resident to Sailnet. Glad to be here. I'm considering a 1979 37' Peterson IOR Sloop, which as been kept in wonderful condition by the current owner. She is a beautiful vessel, very clean from my first impressions. I'll be getting a survey done later this month, and as well as a sea trail. I have some coastal sailing experience, yet looking to buy a all around good ship which has the potential to sail off-shore - as well as to live aboard for the next decade.

I've attempted to do my own research on Peterson design, and have found little about the 37' IOR history or even discussion threads specific for the smaller Peterson boats. Yet, considering the decent price range of these smaller Kelly Petersons (less than 50K) i find these boats very attractive, yet i'm unfamiliar with it's reviews

Can anyone who has experience with these boats provide some feedback on the early Peterson's and weather this could be a good buy for what my needs? I've considered other 35'-37' boats, including the Islander, C&C, Morgan, yet having difficultly comparing the major pro's & con's.

Michael

·
Splashed
572 Posts
Hull shape and general outline looks like his other designs from that period, such as a Contessa 35. Those boats won a lot in those days, and IMHO sail great. Others will disagree with me, but they're seaworthy and works nicely shorthanded. Currently I own a Contesa 35 and single- and/or short-hand (man and wife crew) her. If the build quality is great, and nothing major is found in a survey, it would probably be a great boat for you. Hope this helps, even though I do not know the specific model.

/Joms

·
Registered
100 Posts