SailNet Community banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Disclaimer..... after reading everything I can get my hands on for the last two months I know a little but have yet to actually sail a day in my life.

I am just trying to decide between these two boats and need a little help. Currently both of the boats are on the lake where they will stay for the next year and a half until I move to Jacksonville, FL where which ever one I choose will end up in the atlantic.

The Columbia:

Has an inboard yanmar that is running well
Standing rigging in good shape
Running rigging that... and I quote, "May need to be replaced according to your standards"
Has no major hull or deck problems but may need bottom job soon
Needs some stuff on the inside (new setee back, cushions)
tiller steering
roller furling
comes with depth gauge, knot meter, VHF marine radio
no trailer (not that big of a deal, I'm a welder and I can build trailers although, never for a sailboat..... yet)
West marine heater and AC

The San Juan:

Has an outboard (not sure of the model but it runs)
comes with 4 NEW sails (no roller furling)
No major hull or deck problems but may need a bottom job soon
VHF marine radio
and comes with a trailer

Assuming that the boat will eventually end up as a coastal cruiser (no, I'm NOT circumnavigating) around the east coast I wonder what would be the better boat. I have seen both boats and they are in similar shape. One thing I worry about is the outboard vs. the inboard. I would prefer to have the inboard but it being from 1978 I worry that replacing or rebuilding it would be super expensive where the outboard is a pretty simple fix.... just get a new one. I also wonder if the outboard would be capable of motoring in the ocean if I needed it to and how long the fuel would last. The columbia owner says the yanmar uses about a 1/2 gallon / hr and it has a 10 gallon tank.