SailNet Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, so I'm new to sailing but not being on the water(power boats). So I'm looking at a 1982 30' oday, needs work has a universal atomic...i wanna know if this boat will be ok for wherever I wanna go, mainly from FL to Bahamas, and maybe even jumping over to Europe from there

·
Registered
2,356 Posts
Hello,

In decent weather that boat would be fine for going to the bahamas. No, it would no be suitable for heading to Europe from there. After a few weeks in the Bahamas you would understand why. It would be too small, not enough space for water, food, gear, etc. The O'day 30 is a coastal cruiser and not designed to cross oceans.

Good luck,
Barry

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
BarryL, thank you, that's kinda what I was thinking too, I'm very good at roughing it but with essentials being an issue, yea don't wanna die hahahah, I'll keep looking

·
Registered
30 Posts
I fully agree with BarryL. I owned a 1979 O'Day 30, one of the first.

·
Doesn't sail enough
623 Posts
...i wanna know if this boat will be ok for wherever I wanna go, mainly from FL to Bahamas, and maybe even jumping over to Europe from there
You got the answer to the question you asked, but I want to jump in and answer the question you didn't ask:

Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good. There are a lot more (and a lot cheaper) boats like the O30 that can happily coastal-cruise the Bahamas and the rest of the Caribbean - where you can plan passages based on weather windows, and expect to be able to find water and at least some provisioning when you get there.

Crossing the pond would demand a lot more of you and the boat. I think most people would want to be at 35'+ at least, and a much more restricted list of appropriate models.