SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
GreatKetch33
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Mates,

I am planning to replace the lens on the aft deck hatch. The boat is a Herreshoff Cat Ketch design, the new lens would need to measure 25 x 25 inches and 1/2 inch thick, which sits on top of a teak frame.

Because the measurements is more than 24 inches, finding a source to provide a precut smoke (dark gray color lens) is a challenge for the following reasons:

1) most places will sell 48 inches because 25 falls between 24 and 48 inches, hard to get 25 inch only.
2) shipping large 48 inch cuts is costly per shipping charges, buyer cuts.
3) 1/2 inch thick is hard to find - in my opinion

Does anyone know of a source that they have found pleasant, would recommend?

This is my first project regarding acrylic lens replacement. Any advice, and recommendation is appreciated.

Thank you

·
GreatKetch33
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am located in Central New York, and although it is winter here and no time to sail, the lens work for the hatch is a perfect project for these winter months.

Thank you,

·
Registered
6,707 Posts
lens would need to measure 25 x 25 inches and 1/2 inch thick,
ouch!!

interstate plastic dot com

Might want to look into Polycarb AR2 sheets, but still...........ouch!!

·
GreatKetch33
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
update:

Waiting to hear from Tony at Select Plastics.

Company I called, located in western US, said it was too expensive to ship, and the cost of the panel was expensive. They suggested I contact distributor in NY area; to reduce the cost of shipping. I found a place that had a sheet in stock 96" x 48" dark gray, only $650 and $50 to cut, and no shipping charge.

I am waiting to hear from Tony at Select Plastics.

·
Registered
167 Posts