SailNet Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
634 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Me: Honey,what do you want for Christmas this year?
She: Well how about we combine our gifts and buy one thing special for the boat?
Me: What???? :)

As we finish up our freshman sailing season I want to nominate my Admiral for some sort of award. As of last March neither of us knew anything about sailing. I have some boating in my background but she had never even been on a boat. Purchasing a 28' sailboat was a huge step-up for both of us but especially her. Not the kind of thing many 60somethings do. But she hung in there through it all. Especially challenging were a couple of "oh [email protected]" moments as we learned how to handle the boat. Most of that is in the past now and we both love sailing days even this time of year in Charleston.

But a shared Christmas gift for the boat? Wow I did not see that coming...

In addition, a huge thanks to folks here and new friends in our Charleston marina who have answered so many of our noob questions.

So... Hmmm what should we get? You can be sure I will give her a few options that focus on what she would like and let her pick. Any suggestions from other Admirals here?

·
Asleep at the wheel
3,017 Posts
What's your budget and what does the boat need?

One idea is clothing to keep at the boat, like foul weather gear. The good stuff isn't cheap, but it can really be handy. A nice pice of rain gear as the outer shell, and a fleece for under it on the cool days (or by itself on the days when it isn't raining) can be very nice.

Another option would be a "proper" dodger (no offense) or a different bimini so you can get out of the sun when you want.

·
Registered
42 Posts
She is a keeper!

Your idea of focusing on a few things, then letting her pick is good one. That is a great way to get your significant other to not only get involved, but also feel more invested in the boat.