SailNet Community banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at this 32' 1968 Chris Craft Sloop, Aside from having a survey and all the things that might be wrong with it, needs pant, cleaning, plugged cooling line, which could mean over heated blown motor, batteries ect... has a couple lights not working so likely some electrical issues. the owner claims to boat has made a couple trips from SF thru the panama.

What I am asking is weather or not this is a good boat to own? Sea worthy in bad weather. Since I have little experience and never plan on racing I prefer a boat that can handle strong weather over speed. I can find very little about this boat, I have been looking for a west sail only because I was told they are bullet proof in weather, if that is possible. If anyone has information about the boat please ? it does come with a bunch of gear.

I plan to have it hauled out and surveyed, feel free to offer any advice I have no friend who sail or know anything more than I do about sailing or buying boats. so I have to move cautiously.

·
19,485 Posts
For everyone's reference:

CHEROKEE 32 (CHRIS-CRAFT) sailboat specifications and details on sailboatdata.com

Good pedigree as an S&S design, but any boat that age will be sure to have issues, and you've already found a few red flags. Eyes wide open, have a realistic idea of what can be fixed and what it might cost, very easy to get sucked into a 'deal' that ends up costing more in the long run compared to having bought something newer/in better shape the first time around.

·
Registered
Corsair 24
4,594 Posts
check for delamination in the cabin top and decks, but especially the cabin top...dont remember where I read that they suffered from this and some were structurally compromised...

other than that good boat

·
Administrator
Farr 11.6 (Farr 38)
10,092 Posts