SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,
I'm new to sailboat ownership. I have owned my boat for 1,5 year now (only 6 months actually on the boat) and it is time for a bottom paint.

I'm a little lost trying to find the best paint for me. Here are my requirements :

- I MUCH prefer diving under the boat every two weeks (or less) to scrub it clean as opposed to painting it every year or two. I dive around the boat all the time anyway. It gives me something to do. I HATE having to work under pressure in a boat yard and I don't want to pay someone to paint my boat. Ideally, I would paint it once and then scrub underwater regularly.

- South Florida and Bahamas.

- I haul the boat out for storage every year for 6 months or more.

- Not racing at all and a mix of moving and then anchoring for a while.

Is it a viable option to not have anti-foul at all, just a very hard paint or epoxy and then take care of growth by diving regularly?

Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Also, I'm worried about this : "Left in the water, TrinidadSR will provide years of dependable service."
Does that means that it will loose it's effectiveness out of the water?

·
Registered
87 Posts
Hi,
I'm new to sailboat ownership. I have owned my boat for a 1,5 year now (only 6 months actually on the boat) and it is time for a bottom paint.

I'm a little lost trying to find the best paint for me. Here are my requirements :

- I MUCH prefer diving under the boat every two weeks (or less) to scrub it clean as opposed to painting it every year or two. I dive around the boat all the time anyway. It gives me something to do. I HATE having to work under pressure in a boat yard and I don't want to pay someone to paint my boat. Ideally, I would paint it once and then scrub underwater regularly.

- South Florida and Bahamas.

- I haul the boat for storage every year for 6 months or more.