SailNet Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm getting ready to haul my boat to paint the bottom and do some boat work. One of the projects is to change the cutlass bearing and I have never done this before on this boat. It's a full keel boat and the cutlass bearing and shaft go through the back of the keel. I don't recall seeing any set screws when I painted the bottom last time, but they could be there buried under paint. Does anyone have any experience with doing this on a full keel boat? The problem is that I'll be in a pricy marina and paying through the nose per day on the hard so I won't have time figure this out calmly. It's also a job the yard isn't qualified to do (and I always prefer to do my own work anyway). I've changed a cutlass bearing in a strut before, but I have the feeling that this time it's going to be more complicated....

If I don't find any set screws, do I just try to pull the cutlass bearing out with a puller? Should I cut it out? Are they held in place just with pressure? Anything I should know about putting the new one in place?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
364 Posts
Working with everyday tools, I used sockets to pull my bearing. With a multitude of sizes, one will butt up against the bearing and another will butt up to the casing. A bolt thru the both and tighten the nut. I added heat. Came back in the morning and it had moved a 1/2''. I was well on my way!

·
Registered
4,918 Posts
Never did one on a full keel boat either. But several on ones with struts. I would guess first you will have to remove the shaft. Then cut the bearing into a couple of pieces and remove them. Should work even if there are setscrews.

·
Registered
4,675 Posts