SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to sailing, I can work a VHF radio, but i would love to find a book or article on when and what to say when i do. Any advice?

·
Registered
3,001 Posts
Your best bet it to take a radio operators course. A lot of Power Squadrons put on courses regularly.

I don't know where you live, but here in Canada you are technically required to have a radio operator's license in order to use a VHF radio, although many people don't.

You are right to enquire about proper etiquette. A lot of people treat the vhf as their personal chat line which can be really annoying to other users. Sports fishermen are the worst offenders! More importantly it is good to know procedures for emergency situations.

Sent from my SM-G981W using Tapatalk

·
Aspiring Boat Bum
376 Posts
Mostly common sense, common courtesy and a few guidelines.

1. Channel 16 is for calling and emergencies ONLY! Monitor 16, listen for a few minutes to make sure the channel is clear, no emergencies, wait for a quiet break and call who you're trying to reach.

2. Call using the boat name, repeating 2-3 times then say your boat name.

3. When you receive a reply from the other boat immediately name a working channel to switch to. 68 is common. Check FCC regulations and local preferences for which channel. You will be looking for a ship to ship channel unless you are calling a marina or other shoreside facility.

4. Bridge tenders, commercial traffice, etc use their own channels. Again check local usage to confirm but channel 13 is common.

·
Registered
Hunter 386
601 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I guess I should have mentioned I am in the US on the Chesapeake bay...

·
Registered
5,994 Posts
Leave your radio on and listen and you can learn what the protocols are.
When you make a call you should state your vessels name 2 or 3 times before stating the purpose of the call.