SailNet Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Standard middle aged, over weight, married with kids guy here. Looking to get back into sailing after years of no time and money. Live in PA near the upper Chesapeake. Got my wife to take ASA 101 recently and looking forward to 103 and 104 in the spring followed by some chartering.

:2 boat:

·
Learning the HARD way...
7,194 Posts
Welcome aboard!

ASA 104 certification simply shows that you demonstrated your instructor's technique for doing things during class. IMHO (and I am an ASA instructor), it does not make you competent.

You and your wife should join a sailing club and sail with as many different skippers on as many different boats as you possibly can. The more often that you sail with different people, the more quickly you will pick up different skills/techniques from each of them, and you have a lot of fun doing it.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Enjoy!

Where are you taking 103/104?
Leaning towards Maryland School of Sailing in Rock Hall or possibly Annapolis Sailing School. Would love recommendations if anyone has any (we didn't love our 101 boat or teacher). A two weekend 103 would be great but I don't see many around here.

And if anyone has a recommendation for an upper bay sailing club let us know. Probably needs to be north of Rock Hall or Havre De Grace

·
Learning the HARD way...
7,194 Posts
Speaking for myself only, I doubt that I could take a 4-day course taught by Tom T. at the Maryland School. He has many YouTube videos to give you a flavor of what the course is like.