SailNet Community banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Bristol 45.5 - AiniA
4,525 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, for all those who wanted an update (all right one person) on what we have done since arriving back in Grenada, here it is. We have not been near a sailboat since February when we got the boat hauled. Since then I have been working very busily on a high school textbook project. This is nothing new, I have been doing these since the 1970s. The royalty income goes up and down but it adds enough to the kitty that we can live comfortably and travel a lot. We also sold our house and bought a new townhouse on Lake Ontario east of Toronto. We figure this will make it easier to leave if we want to head off for extended periods of time since outside maintenance it is looked after. Turn down the thermostat and away we go.

We will return to Grenada in November and do a couple of jobs (bottom paint, move the solar panels to the stern and off the rails. Our plan is to stay in Grenada for a couple of months (lovely, pleasant place) and then head north through the islands. We will go to a few places we really enjoyed before and try some new ones. Likely head to Bermuda in May(ish). Here is where it gets complicated. Between now and then we have to decide if we want to bring the boat to Canada. If we do we have to pay HST (sales tax) of 13%. If not we will keep the boat in the US, probably winter in NYC again and likely try to see the boat. If we come into Canada we will spend a considerable time in Newfoundland before heading up the St Lawrence.