SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have a Catalina 30 with original 1980 standard wire rigging. I know the usual replacement program for this rigging is about 10 years but I am curious as to everyone's thoughts about sailing in San Francisco bay with rigging of this condition. When evaluating the rigging I have noticed multiple areas of the wire mid length that has some corrosion build up. Also around the clevis pins and swages there is some brown rust that has developed. There are currently no obvious cracks in the swages and the turnbuckles and screws appear to be sound as well. Just this brown rust around the T-toggles and other areas. Here are some photos to give you an idea. Thanks for any advice that can be given...good/bad.

CHEERS!

Attachments

·
no longer reading SailNet
2,309 Posts
If that were my boat I'd replace the rigging. I'm not a professional rigger, but crevice corrosion in the bottom swages would make me very nervous.

·
Registered
845 Posts
If your wire rope looks that bad on the outside i can't imagine what it looks like on the inside; especially inside the lower swages.

I would replace when able.

·
Administrator
5,921 Posts
Agree with replacing it.

·
Registered
3,264 Posts
I can't tell from the pictures if what I am seeing is pulled strands or rust, but frankly I wouldn't sail that boat until she is re rigged. It isn't just the swags and wire, the mast tangs look pretty bad, and I have to wonder about the fittings on the mast crane as well.

·
Registered
Corsair 24
4,594 Posts
I see a crack on the pin for the pulley you have in the pic

I also see crusty rust in the second wire pic...

the tangs look fine

you choice

you can re rig a few wires at a time...no prob...whatever is needed more urgently of course going all new at once is best

avoid replacing with cheap new stuff...sometimes old and shabby looking is better off than some crap sold these days..

·
Registered
7,857 Posts