SailNet Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The long awaited process of getting Serenade polished and waxed. The weather has been just enough above freezing the last couple of evenings that I decided to start the job. It's been at least a few years since anyone really took any care of the gel coat, and it definitely shows.
I'm using the HF version and Meguiar's oxidation remover for the first round. I am still very new to polishing gel coat, but so far it's looking better than it was. I think I'm going to see if I can find the wool pads mentioned in the 'Musings' thread. These foam pads just don't seem to last very long. So far I have about 10 feet of the port side compounded.
Anyway,a few pics from last evening, hopefully the difference is visible on screen...

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using Tapatalk

·
Registered
Moody 376
41 Posts
thats going to come out nicely. My moody had sat on the hard since 2012, untouched. it too came out very nice as well. I used the meguiars ultra cut. with a harbor frieght warrior variable speed rotary polisher. some pics of the hull and before and after on the dink.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Nice! What did you use on the non skid portions?

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using Tapatalk

·
Unhinged and Fluid
33 Posts
I was going to buy the Milwaukie cordless polisher because im a Milwaukie whore... but $250 vs $59 for the HF one...i think ill save some coin on this tool and go with the hf one

·
Registered
3,106 Posts
I was going to buy the Milwaukie cordless polisher because im a Milwaukie whore... but $250 vs $59 for the HF one...i think ill save some coin on this tool and go with the hf one
I have a makita commercial grade polisher for the large areas and the wife got me the Milwaukee cordless for Christmas which will be great for the smaller areas...can't wait to try it!

I am a bit of a tool snob! I believe in buying quality knowing it will last me a lifetime.