SailNet Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I had terrible manners and posted questions and comments before introducing myself. I'm Nancy, and I'm a 52 year old teacher, who just decided to get my administration certificate. Yes, I'm old for that, but I have lots of energy. I used to sail with an old boyfriend when I was about 16, but don't remember much.

Two years ago, my husband and I took a sailing lesson from a sailing club instructor near us. The gentleman put my 6ft8in husband and I on a 14 foot boat, and followed behind. Neither of had a clue. We capsized before we got it out of the little sheltered area, got the boat back upright, sailed a bit into deeper waters of Lake George, went to come about, my husband got a very hard smack to the head with the boom and we capsized again!

We haven't tried since then, but we both love water, and boats and adventure, so we are giving it another try. I know I love sailing - I just have to get him, with his poor, tall head, on board. We are taking the ASA course 101 next week on Lake Champlain and then looking to buy a boat in the 22 foot range, because they are a bit bigger, but still smallish.

We want to sail in the smaller lakes here in the Adirondacks to gain skill and confidence, and then see where this all takes us. We both spent summers at the Jersey shore so we are partial to salt water, and that may be in our future.

I've been reading a lot here, and responding, and you have a great community of very nice people here! I'm looking forward to getting to know you and learning a lot.
Nancy

·
Registered
26 Posts
Please keep us updated on the course and the experience you have. Im taking a course next week in Rochester. Will you be getting a "keel board" certificate after completing it? Thank-you in advance! Matt

·
Bring On The Wind
281 Posts