SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
660 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone had added a belt driven supercharger setup on a perkins 4-108? I have the space, and I have already made an intercooler. I run 490 compression, and I set the injectors at 250 BAR, more air, more boom!, less fuel.:rolleyes:

·
Registered
987 Posts
Craziness... Haven't seen a supercharger on a small diesel. Hope you got room for a bigger wheel. You going to go with a stack? Black smoke all the way out of the marina? Post some pics when you are done!

I remember looking at some boats that had a marinized version of the Volkswagen 1.6L diesel. I have wondered if it would be possible to maranize the later VW turbo diesel that they put in the late 80's Golf's.

·
Retired and happy
228 Posts
I have no direct experience of supercharging, but a mate of mine was at one time into adding blowers to his old cars and I remember some spectacular results, sometimes including flying pistons!

I have briefly looked into the possibility as a cheaper way of getting more power, but it actually looked mighty expensive to me.....

I would be really interested to know how it goes. My memory (not necessarily to be relied on these days) is that the installation process was reasonably straightforward.

Stuart

·
Telstar 28
992 Posts
Why would you want to add that kind of complexity to a marine diesel that hopefully isn't used all that much??? It is a sailboat you have, right???

·
Mud Hen #69, Mad Hatter
415 Posts
Oooooo! Neat. Bolting that on the bimini I would likely reduce my motoring time from five minutes to 37 seconds to get out of the slip and out on the water!

Wonder if I could get the sails up while the hull was still skipping?

Probably lose a lot more hats, too.

·
Registered
2,537 Posts
Cap :
Be careful.
The motor does breathe in very hot air with a supercharger, or turbocharger, hence the need for your intercooler.
They don't make the easiest of bolt-on devices.