SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to sailing and am in the research phase of yacht ownership. Currently enrolled in ASA 101, then later this fall I'll take 103 and 104. After that I'll be in the market to purchase but for the time being I'm doing a lot of research on what's out there, and what to look out for. Thus far the consensus for my range (24'-35', 70's-80's built) is basically that there isn't an inherently "bad" boat but every one was designed to fit certain parameters of performance (cruising, bluewater, racing, etc...) with amenities ranging from seat cushions to live-aboard capable. I know there's things to look out for like blistering or soft spots, but generally things check out for the most part. Just about everything I'm seeing here on the left coast is around $10K. Be advised, I'm painting with very broad strokes here and I'm aware of it. I must have sifted through 500 boats in the last couple months across Craigslist and Yachtworld.

Now, every time I see one I like I google it to see what the masses say about it. Most of the time I hear something along the lines of what I mentioned above, but I never hear anyone straight up say "STAY AWAY FROM THAT MODEL!". This got me thinking, does such a boat exist? I'm presuming that time has taken enough course that if a boat was made in my era that such an afflicted vessel would have been subjected to "natural selection" by now and would be in a boat yard as a home for varmints or the bottom of the ocean.

If you're familiar with vehicles from that era, think Yugo.

·
Freedom isn't free
2,946 Posts
Most of us want to avoid saying "stay away from that model," mostly because we don't want to offend owners who might also lurk here.

Opinions are just that... everyone has one.