SailNet Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
673 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been sailing for 35 years. I have a pretty good sense of what I like and want in a boat.

I also am of the SMALLER camp v. LARGE boat camp.

I am considering a few older classic plastic boats and am looking for some unbiased opinions.

HR Mistral 33' . Nice lines, not sure I want all that wood to take care of. What issues are any of you aware of w/ them?

Sea Sprite 30. CE RYDER, need I say more? I'm just a little leery of the short length and low SA/D ratio.:confused:

Southern Cross 31 cutter. Same thing. Great sea boat from all I can find, but I also sail on Chesapeake Bay. Light air performance would be horrendous w/ a SA/D of less than 13!:(

Stepping up in cost, but definitely up there in eye candy appeal is the Hinckley Pilot 35. Probably a bit smallish below, but for just two people...
God, I drool every time I see one of these!:) :cool: I've heard said they can be wet in rough weather though... And yes, I could probably afford it. Or at least I could before last Oct!

Bristol 35. Not a Hinckley, but would do for offshore and still has light air performance I suspect.

Cape Dory 36. Now this is probably the closest to a good compromise on looks, cost and filling my needs that I have found.

I'm really leery of a SA/D less than 15.5
So, let me have it. Offer up your opinions!

·
Broad Reachin'
2,038 Posts
Dave - I like your taste in boats!

I'm a big fan of a full keel boat with classic looks. I like the Southern Cross 31 (and 28 too!) but would be a bit leary of the Airex core and home built kits. Maybe my "leariness" is unwarranted, but that's my reaction whenever I look at an SC. However, I think the Sea Sprite line is a good compromise because you still get the Ryder design and SC look without the kits or cored hull (I think).