SailNet Community banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a college student thinking about crossing the Atlantic in 3+ years from now, and just want to gauge the basics of what is needed. I'm attracted by the adventure of taking a small boat across (perhaps 25-30') with 2 crew. Years ago I read Dove, about Robin Graham's circumnavigation and want to have my own adventure. My research is just starting and any resources you could recommend would be appreciated.

Initially I have three main questions:

What Boat? Maybe a small and tough boat like the Flicka

What Route? Fl to Bahamas to Azores to Gibraltar seems good

Am I stupid to be thinking about this?

My Sailing Experience: 10 years on dinghy's and day sailors, and cruising experience on motor boats. I would need more.

My Budget: Unknown. I would split the costs with my companion, plan to sell the boat (how big of a hit do you take selling in Europe?), and have a few years to save up.

thank you!

·
Registered
2,172 Posts
You can do it. It's been done in very small boats. Keep reading and studying. Learn what makes a good cruiser. Get experience cruising on other people's boats. Good seamanship is composed of knowlege, experience and caution.

·
Registered
846 Posts
It is not the boat but the boater who makes the crossings. The boater selects the boat (the right boat hopefully). You need to learn as much as possible on ocean cruising then you will be able to select the correct boat and cross the ocean

·
Unpaid Intern
992 Posts
I would recommend crewing on some passages if possible. Even if you don't have time yet available to cross an ocean, you can crew on shorter passages down the coast or perhaps Bermuda. This type of experience is really invaluable. Check ads at local marinas, local sailing publications, and of course the national magazines as well.

As others have mentioned, it also helps to read, read, read.

I agree it can be done if you put your efforts into it.
-J