SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Depends on the boat you want . .
But be careful, a lot of newkie boat shoppers do not understand that some boats have a negative value - i.e., they are worth less, sometimes MUCH less, than nothing.
One of my former students was given a Tartan 27 in bad shape. It never did go in the water, and he lost lots of money and time in working on it.

·
Master Mariner
9,414 Posts
If you are looking for an ocean worthy cruiser, then there are a lot of "ports of broken dreams". If not, Yachtworld.com is a pretty good place to surf, checking asking prices, availability and options for any boat you might be interested in.
But first, you really need to know what boats will suit your needs and that, of course, means knowing what those are.

·
Registered
6,689 Posts
In general, the best place to buy a boat is close to where you are.
I have some firsthand experience with this. I drove more than 5,000 miles looking for a Morgan 33 Out Island. I ended up buying one 50 miles from home.

First and foremost, you should have a good idea of exactly what you are looking for and the type of cruising you anticipate doing. For example, there are lots of boats out there at bargain basement prices that will suffice for playing around on lakes, but those boats usually are unsuitable for coastal cruising.

So the question that you must ask yourself is: Where do I intend to cruise, and what boat is suitable for what I intend to do? Will be you solo sailing, or will you be taking your spouse and family members along? How much storage do you need? Can you handle the boat by yourself, or do you need a crew? Lots and lots of questions to be answered before heading out and looking for a boat.