SailNet Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am fairly new to sailing, having done my ASA 101 class last March, and bought my Precision 18 last June. Have sailed it in Oriental. NC, Lake Murray, SC and Lake Norman, NC. I originally thought I would trailer-sail it, but a combination of the HOA forbidding it being visible in my driveway and the hassle of rigging and launching it every time I wanted to sail made me decide to bite the bullet and dock it on Lake Norman. When there is wind, and not much motorboat traffic, I enjoy sailing up there. It is 45 minutes from our house and we are in a calm marina. However, it is a challenge, especially during the summer, finding a day when we can actually sail. There is hardly ever enough wind and the weekends are too busy even if there were. I have started thinking that I would like to keep a boat down on the coast. My wife and I could drive down there for the weekend, sail, and stay on the boat (if we get a bigger boat, like a Cat 30, the P18 won't cut it for a weekend). The closest places to us is Charleston - a 3 hour drive. I love Charleston but I would think it is expensive to dock a boat down there and I have heard the currents can make docking really tough. Southport is 10 minutes further, but I not sure how the sailing is. Washington is 4:15 away, New Bern 4:30, and Oriental 5:30. Seems like there is a place or two on the Chesapeake that I might be able to get in 5:30-6:00. I think all but Charleston and Southport are further away than my wife would want to drive for a weekend, so I am not sure how often we would make that trip until I retire.

Any thoughts on sailing in Charleston or Southport for a relative beginner? Are there any other places in a 3 hour radius from Charlotte that I might want to consider that I did not mention?