SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Over Hill Sailing Club
3,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Am finally breaking down and considering trading my trusty flip phone for a smartphone so I can access email and the web in a https environment instead of highly insecure wi-fi links around marinas and such. My main concerns are 1.the phone's ability to pull in a signal- I know some phones are a LOT better at pulling in the GSM and/or CDMA signals.(I need GSM to get a signal at home, CDMA is very weak). 2. durability aboard a boat- waterproof/ resistance would be nice but not essential but the overall durability has to be good. 3. Unlocked with ATT network capability so I don't have to get into a contract and can use it with Tracfone or Consumer Cellular or some reasonably priced no-contract service provider and with a foreign sim card like those from Batelco. Thanks in advance for any experience with these things. I have very little knowledge of what to look for in this technology. One thing I'd stay away from right now is the Android 4.1 system because the OpenSSL is vulnerable to Heartbleed hackers.

·
Mermaid Hunter
5,689 Posts