SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 127 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Can anyone recommend boat manufacturers to stick with if wanting to round the globe in the Caribbean portion? Typically boats that can handle rough seas in case would be best I suppose.

So far I read bad things about Hunter and Morgan.

Beanteanu
Jeanneau
Catalina so far are my top 3 picks, but the first 2 are more difficult to find here in the US.

Are there other brands that are more abundant/easy to grab that are solid built?

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Northoceanbeach, I am confused by your reply. Many have used those top 3 brands I have listed to round the globe with no problems.

What do you recommend instead? I am new to sailing so I would love to hear your advice.

·
Registered
347 Posts
What he means is that it all depends. It depends on the kind of sailor you are. You could probably sail anywhere on any boat (and as you point out, people have), but what you do with it and in what kind of weather/sea state is all up to you. Most people consider those boats you've listed as light/mid-duty boats, more suitable for coastal or inland sailing. Not for crossing oceans. There are many threads here on sailnet, which a Google search would probably render more fruitful, even for sailnet discussions on the matter. There is a lot more to circling the globe (even in the tropics) than just the brand of boat. If you want a more exhaustive list of boat brands, try this page here: Mahina Expedition - Selecting A Boat for Offshore Cruising Down near the bottom is the list, but it still boils down to how you prepare yourself and the boat than just about any other factor.

·
Registered
28 Posts