SailNet Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at buying a 1980's Hunter 36' and have received quotes from Markel American Insurance and Offshore Risk Management. Does anyone have specific knowledge of either of these two companies? Have they been reasonable to work with or nit-picky? Have they been good to you or would you not ever recommend them? I intend to sail in Florida and the Bahamas during the winter and will leave the boat on the hard for 8 months of the year. What types of coverages should I look for and what exclusions should I be aware of. I am new to big boat insurance so any information would be helpful.

·
Registered
23,453 Posts
Insurance references that are not from the exact state that your policy is being written in are worthless. Each state regulates their own insurance industry and it can change everything.

The best method to sort this out is through a local experienced marine insurance agent or broker. They should provide multiple quotes and be able to review the relative value questions you are asking. Indeed, a policy that costs a bit more, but is more responsive to claims may be a much better value.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Minnewaska sorry to say but with marine insurance there are no state regulations. It is not like auto or homeowners. It varies only by company. Companies may have state requirements but it is not mandated.

I do agree however that a good marine agent is the way to go. Good agents will often save you money as well getting the best value with only the coverage you need and not a buch of stuff that sounds good but will not help.

·
Super Moderator
6,777 Posts
You might try Progressive Insurance.

Progressive Auto Insurance - Car Insurance Quotes Plus Boat, RV and Motorcycle Insurance Quotes

They are good to deal with if you have an older boat- not sure if they will cover Bahamas but you could ask.