SailNet Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Happy Monday everyone!

I have been sailing for about 3 years now, and usually with 22ft boats. I am currently away from my sailing center and with this time off from sailing, I'd like to increase my knowledge about sailing. I've been reading some books, but I don't think these reads really encapsulate the knowledge I'm trying to gain..

In the future, I'd like to do some day trips with larger boats. Is there a good book that goes over how to navigate/cruise/overall boat knowledge that I could be reading to prepare me in the future?

Thanks!
-Cory
:svoilier:

·
Administrator
5,911 Posts
Reactions: cory1sail

·
Administrator
5,911 Posts
Oh. You said "day trips" not cruising.

Meh. Read 'em all. It won't hurt.

·
Super Moderator
4,244 Posts
I have an entire book case in my office dedicated to boat books.

If I were to suggest 1 all around reference book, I think it would be "Chapman's Piloting and Seamanship". Mine is a 1959 edition that my grandfather used, but the most current edition is the 67th 2013 edition.

I also have a good book on chartwork that explains everything nicely and includes numerous exercises that you can practice with and become proficient. I have lent it out to a couple of people who were eager to learn navigation. "Small craft piloting & Coastal Navigation by A E Saunders".

For meteorology, I would recommend "Reeds Maritime Meteorology". It's a bit pricey but is very in depth.

Check out this link
www.nauticalmind.com

·
Registered
131 Posts
I'll add to your list as well. Even though the thread title says Navigation and Seamanship...it's pointless if you can't also maintain/understand the vessel systems. So I would throw in:

Nigel Calder's Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual (worth every penny)

And anything from John Vigor

That and the books already mentioned should round out what you don't get from hands-on education.

·
Super Moderator