SailNet Community banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have a P26 and want to install a soft vang (which I have). The correct boom bail on rig rite is 2.25" ID and costs over $60 with the bolt and shipping.

Can I use a Ronstan Large Boom Bail (2.5" ID; $16) and just bend it to 2.25" ID or perhaps use spacers? Both items appear to be 1/4" SS.

Is there a load problem if the bail attachment is 1/8" outboard of the boom wall? It doesn't seem like that would be a problem but I'm no engineer and don't want to do anything TOO stupid...

Link to rig rite bails (see k-10456): Boom Bails

Link to Ronstan bail: Ronstan Large Boom Bail

Thanks for any help,
Clay

·
Registered
5,072 Posts
Try to arrange so that the bail is 'as close as possible' to the boom. This will prevent any tendency for the through-bolt to move back and forth in the bore holes of the boom which will tend to 'abrade' the bore holes. Leaving the bail 'longer' or 'more open' than the width of the boom section can promote the bolt stub ends to 'flex' under load and not bear the vang load equally across the inner surface of the bore holes. Bend the bail to 'close fit' with boom sides - no space between the bail and the boom.

FWIW - the bore holes should be on the exact 'middle' (with respect to top to bottom) of the boom; and there should be NO compression (from the bolt and bail) TO the cross section of the boom where the bore holes are located; any 'compression' to the walls of the boom at this connection may induce 'buckling failure' of the boom. With little to NO compression on that 'cross bolt' into the boom walls such 'induced buckling failure' will be minimized.