SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having previous gas engine experience, I've been asked to look at a M18 diesel on a sailboat. The engine supposedly ran prior to the new owner but it hasn't run since. I admit I'm a newbie with diesels but a lot of the components are similar. After initial inspection, I was able to turn the engine through 2 cylinder cycles with the crank pulley by hand. The glow plugs and the injectors are in and tight and the compression relief lever is not engaged. I removed the valve cover and observed the valves operating properly. My concern is I may have major issues (head/rings/...) because the engine could be turned by hand with occasional resistance. I'm familiar with gas engines using initial compression relief on pull start engines. So my questions are: should I be able to turn over the engine through all cycles by hand? Is there an initial compression relief (other than the spring loaded one on the back of the valve cover)?

A couple of side questions: Is this a 2 cycle or 4 cycle engine? Do the injectors fire during intake stroke or after compression is achieved?

B

·
Learning the HARD way...
7,260 Posts
deleted

·
Registered
4,761 Posts
All small marine diesels including the Universals are 4 stroke. The injection is near TDC, similar to when the spark plug fires in a gasoline engine. With the compression release flipped, you should be able to easily rotate the engine by hand. With the release off, it will take a wrench on the crank or something similar to turn it over. Sounds like you have the compression release activated.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the info. It's as I suspected. With the valve cover off the compression release level is off and you can turn the engine threw all 8 cycles. I'm suspecting head gasket or something common to both cylinders because both compression strokes don't produce significant resistance.

·
Registered
2,958 Posts