SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
KPS'08
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
My name is Chris and I am an unlimited tonnage marine engineer looking to live-aboard. I am starting my search for a 50-100' sailboat, in the need of some TLC. I want to be able to sail the east coast and beyond with my girlfriend, and one day small family. I have some sailing (far-40s and J-24s) and extensive large boat (60'+) handling experience.

Assuming a $160k buy budget, my question is, what type/manufacturer of sailboat should I be looking at? Pros/cons of single vs twin mast? Steel v fiberglass? Are wood hulls drastically more expensive/work?

Thank you for any information you are willing to share.
Chris
KPS

·
Registered
S2 7.9 Bear Lake, UT
2,488 Posts
I'd suggest 4 J-24s to add up to a 100 feet with 4 bedrooms.

Before you invest in a 100 feet fixer upper find out how much it costs to dock or haul it out for maintenance and see if you can afford it.

·
KPS'08
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yes I'm serious. No I dont think $ or time will be an issue. I only work 6 months a year and do just fine financially. After talking with people who have lived aboard I hear that a 45-55 LOA is plenty for 2-3 people so that's where I'm going to focus my search. I have researched maintenance, insurance and dockage costs. If you could look past that part of my inquiry and try to give some honest advice to someone trying to make a dream come true I'd appreciate it.

Cartgate and Mbetter, thank you for your comments.

·
美国华人, 帆船
2,531 Posts
Don't let others affect your desire wanting a bigger boat. Size does matters either it is referring to a certain body parts, car or boat. Just go out the get a 100 footer, sailing into their home port or show us some pictures. :)

Good luck and make yourself happy.

·
Maine Dub
215 Posts