SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks,
We are planning to start the passage from SoCal to HI next week. From the common literature, November is one of the best month to attempt a passage from CA to HI because this is the end of the Hurricane season and not yet just winter.
However, this year, a couple of systems are still/already pounding in the north and create High Swell advisory (10 to 20m) accross the full Pacific.
I do not see that as an issue as usually the swell period do not create break waves, but I have limited experience on offshore passages.
What do you guys think ? Is it really a no-go sign ?

·
Banned
8,867 Posts
Hey folks,
We are planning to start the passage from SoCal to HI next week. From the common literature, November is one of the best month to attempt a passage from CA to HI because this is the end of the Hurricane season and not yet just winter.
However, this year, a couple of systems are still/already pounding in the north and create High Swell advisory (10 to 20m) accross the full Pacific.
I do not see that as an issue as usually the swell period do not create break waves, but I have limited experience on offshore passages.
What do you guys think ? Is it really a no-go sign ?
My experience/observations is in Northern California & Oregon coastal waters. IIRC, anytime from about the middle of October you can see big seas all winter into about the first to middle of May. Big seas can come at any time of the year, but "winter" months seem to be the worst, to me, anyway.

Hopefully, someone who has done it will reply.

Paul T

·
Bristol 45.5 - AiniA
4,526 Posts