SailNet Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

This is a new mast I have ordered. It was my understanding that 6000 series aluminium is extruded for masts in the shape since welding weakens the aluminium. Here it is two pieces being welded together.

Thoughts anyone?

Dennis

·
Registered
21,800 Posts
I'm not an engineer, but assume the weaker weld has been taken into account. Not unlike a knot weakens a rope. You oversize the rope, so the degraded knot is still sufficient. Intuition tells me a vertical weld is different than connecting lengths horizontally.

Reactions: Zzzdgr

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
a good welder, the person behind the machine, is the key. While often not cost effective, a good welder and fabricator can manufacture things as strong or stronger than the extrusion. Sleeves, welding and collars as well as fabricated attachments (i.e. - radar mount, antenna mount, shroud mounts and line handling, etc) may be used as well.

Key thing is to uncover why the extrusion failed in the first place?

·
Registered
2,869 Posts
Welds on 6000 aluminum does change the condition of the aluminum near the weld which can make that area loose some strength but does not mean that it is not strong enough to do the job the designer has intended it to do. 6000 series is used in a multitude of ways to build a mast . when masts get large they are usually welded fabrications of formed sheet stock. just as they weld aluminum sheets together to form a hull of a vessel they weld them together to make a mast. extruded masts are used in the smaller sizes because it is economical if you are making thousands of masts all the same size. Over about a 12" section they would become very expensive to produce because of the size of the extruding machine and the small quantity. extruded masts can also have many welded on pieces such as mast heads, bases, sleeve boxes, spreader attachments and other components.

·
Registered
64 Posts